• March 19, 2023

NIMCET- An Entrance Exam for MCA in NITs

NIMCET- An Entrance Exam for MCA in NITs

As per National Association of Software and Services Companies (NASSCOM), Indian Information Technology (IT) Industry directly employs around 51 lakh persons in FY 2021-22, most of which are IT skilled. In addition, with increasing digitalization under the Digital India program in the last 7 years, other economic sectors have created large opportunities for digitally enabled jobs. As per report by Ministry of Electronics & IT on “India’s trillion-dollar digital opportunity”, India is poised to be a trillion dollar digital economy and could support 60 to 65 million digitally enabled jobs by 2025-26. Also, the projected requirement of manpower  by  Indian IT  industry itself  by the  year 2026  would  be around 95 lakh, for India to maintain the growth momentum in IT sector and also of which 55 lakh will be digitally skilled across key digital technologies such as cloud computing, AI, big data analytics and IoT etc.

In order to meet the growing demand of skilled man power in the Information Technology & IT Enabled Services (IT & ITES) Sectors, lot of Computer Engineering graduates are required in the coming years. IT companies are recruiting Master of Computer Applications (MCA) graduates along with the B.Tech graduates. Studying MCA in reputed institutions like NITs have edge over tier-2 and tier-3 colleges in selections.

National Institutes of Technology (NITs) are Institutes of National Importance and are Centrally Funded Technical Institutes. The NIT MCA Common Entrance Test (NIMCET), is a National Level Test conducted by NITs for admission to their Master of Computer Applications (MCA) program.

The admission to the MCA program through NIMCET to the following nine NITs for the year 2023-24 is based on the Rank obtained in NIMCET-2023 only.

  1. Agartala
  2. Allahabad
  3. Bhopal
  4. Jamshedpur
  5. Kurukshetra
  6. Raipur
  7. Surathkal
  8. Tiruchirappalli (Trichy)
  9. Warangal

The Curriculum and Syllabi of Master of Computer Applications (MCA) program offered by NITs are designed considering the needs of different Information Technology firms in India and abroad. MCA graduates have high potential for jobs in the IT Sector.

nit mca seats


Indian Nationals securing at least 60% marks in aggregate or 6.5 CGPA on a 10-point scale (55% marks or 6.0 CGPA on a 10-point scale in case of SC/ ST/PwD) in

(i) Any UG program of minimum Three years with Mathematics/ Statistics as one of the subjects


(ii) B.E./ B.Tech. from a recognized University/Institution

are eligible to appear for NIMCET-2023. Conversion of scored marks from CGPA to percentage and vice-versa is not permitted.


nimcet test pattern



  • Last date for submission of application: on or before     10/04/2023 (5.00 PM IST).
  • The NIMCET-2023 test scheduled date to be conducted : 11/06/2023 (Sunday)
  • Declaration of the results of the NIMCET-2023                 : on or before 26/06/2023
  • Counseling for seat allotment process                               :  29/06/2023  to 04/07/2023.


Students who wish to study MCA in NITs can go through the website of NIMCET in the following link for further details and apply online.












Spread the love

Related post